About sheepfeeder

In the 13th chapter of John, Jesus tells His followers that they cannot go where He is going. When Peter asks Jesus again where He is going, Jesus tells him again that he cannot go. Peter asks Jesus why and declares that he would die for Jesus. Jesus responds, “Are you ready to die for me? I tell you the truth, before the rooster crows, you will say three times that you don’t know me.”

My heart truly goes out to Peter every time I read this part of my Bible. I know that feeling so well. Sometimes, I think that I will do anything for Jesus, the lover of my life and my soul! Then, too many times, I am smacked in the face with my disobedience, bad attitude, and out-and-out sin. That’s when I hear my Savior ask me those same words, “Are you ready to die for me?”

After the crucifixion of Jesus, Peter, along with some of the other disciples, went back to what they had been doing when Jesus first found them. They went fishing. There’s nothing wrong with fishing, of course, but it reminds me of my own salvation. I was saved at a relatively young age, and I’m sure you remember, if you have been saved, how wonderful that first few months/years were, don’t you? I read my Bible all the time, shared what Jesus had done for me, attended church religiously and basked on top of the mountain. Then time happened. I went through some unpleasant events and the seed didn’t take root. The cares of life quietly blew them away, and I slowly drifted into a life of compromise, doubt, frustration and sin. I went back to the familiar, the comfortable, back to what I was doing before Jesus came.

After His resurrection, Jesus appears to His disciples, and at that time has a very interesting conversation with Peter. He asks him three times if he loves Him. All three times, Peter advises that he does, and by the third time, is very distressed that the Lord continues to ask him. Each time Peter tells Jesus that he loves Him, Jesus tells him to feed His sheep. And finally, Jesus commands him, “Follow me!” Peter’s response is to ask Jesus about the disciple John, “What about him?” and Jesus responded to Peter by stating that John was none of Peter’s business. Don’t you see yourself here? Aren’t we always wondering about whether or not someone else is living right or doing what they are suppose to be doing instead of concentrating on our own walk? Peter is one of my favorites of the Bible just because of this reason. And yet, for all his faults, Jesus allowed him to start His church.

Now, even with all his faults, I’m no Peter. I would never begin to compare my life to the life of that great saint for Jesus. But, I do think the events in the Bible have been given to us for instruction and example. I actually set up this blog last year, but never published it. Instead, this year I began another where my topics included God and country, writing about both Jesus’ word and how it relates to politics and the current events in our country. On the face of it, there’s nothing wrong with that, just like there’s nothing wrong with fishing, but I hear Jesus asking me if I love Him and I have to admit that I have been trying to mix what Jesus had asked me to do with my own interests, just a little compromise…..and that reminds me of a time long ago when just a little compromise led me to spending a great deal of my life walking apart from my Savior. I don’t want to ever risk that again, so this is the first of what I hope will be interesting food for you to read. Food He has given me to share with you. I appreciate your sharing it and sharing Jesus with those in your life.

One response to this post.

  1. […] This post was Twitted by kimhamlin […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

