You Don’t have to be Perfect to be a Saint!

I’ve already failed the PostAWeek2011 Challenge. My last post was 10 days ago. Or, I could just say it’s been a long week! After all, I’m not a saint! Or, am I?

When we think of the the word “saint”, we usually are thinking of someone of who is the picture of faith and good deeds. But, check this out. The word “saint” is from the Latin word sanctus, meaning “holy”. In the Greek New Testament, the word translated to “saint” is hagios. In I Cor. 1:2, the NLT translates this word as “holy people”. That means Christians are called to be holy people or saints. But we can never do that, nobody’s perfect!

The Bible shows us that holy people are those set apart by God for relationship with Him. Exodus 19:4-6 (NLT) says,” ‘You have seen what I did to the Egyptians. You know how I carried you on eagles’ wings and brought you to myself. Now if you will obey me and keep my covenant, you will be my own special treasure from among all the peoples on earth; for all the earth belongs to me. And you will be my kingdom of priests, my holy nation.’ This is the message you must give to the people of Israel.” What makes us holy, or saints, isn’t our perfect lives or our good deeds, but God chose us. And, I don’t think I want to argue with Him.

I Corinthians 1:2 lets us know that we have been made holy through Christ, so we can get to know God and fall in love with Him. So, when we receive Christ in faith, we aren’t just Christians, we are then saints, God’s people.

Dear Sweet Lord, Mighty and Powerful, what a privilege to be chosen by You to be saints! We are grateful and honored to serve You. We know this depends on Your grace, and not on anything we have done. We know we aren’t super-spiritual people, but help us to see and accept ourselves as set apart by You, help us to remember we are to live in the world, but not be of the world. In Your Son’s Precious and Holy Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

